For more information on the ASOR Archives, click here, or email the ASOR Archivist, Cynthia Rufo.
“Jerusalem, Tomb of David on Mount Zion,” 1875. American Palestine Exploration Society Photograph Collection, ASOR Archives
“Beit Ras, Jordan,” c. 1943. Nelson Glueck Photograph Collection, ASOR Archives.
“Excavation at Beth El.” 1934. ASOR Glass Plate Negative Collection. ASOR Archives.
“Group from the École Biblique on top of Nabataean temple, Dat Ras, October 20, 1953.” Leo Boer Photograph Collection, ASOR Archives.
“Jerusalem, Jaffa Gate, 1875” American Palestine Exploration Society Photograph Collection, ASOR Archives.
“Elevated view of Nippur Excavation,” c. 1900. Nippur Photograph Collection, ASOR Archives
“Tents at Beit Mirsim,” c. 1924. Nelson Glueck Photo Collection, ASOR Archives
“Local men taking a tea break at Beth Zur.” c.1925. Nelson Glueck Photo Collection, ASOR Archives
American Palestine Exploration Society Photograph Collection, “Damascus, Khan As’ad Pasha al-Azem, Portal,” 1875. ASOR Archives
Western archaeologists and local workers explore the caves at Qumran, shortly after the discovery of the Dead Sea Scrolls (1952, ASOR Archives).
Nelson Glueck and his wife Helen, with their dog Atarah at the ASOR Jerusalem School sometime between 1936-1939.
Workmen at the excavation of Cave 3, near Khirbet Qumran, 1952.
From the ASOR Photograph Collection
Caption: Clarence Fisher, Carl Pape, Helen Glueck, Nelson Glueck, and S.J. Schweig pose behind the goddess sculpture, while Atarah reclines in front.
Nelson Glueck and a friend play tennis on the Jerusalem School court, Jerusalem, c. 1940. Nelson Glueck Papers
ASOR’s Pontiac Station Wagon field vehicle, Beersheba, c. 1945
ASOR Jerusalem School fellows, Ascalon, c. 1930
Shechem Excavation, circa 1962
Pere Milik and Mohamet Muhammud at Qumran caves in 1952, shortly after the discovery of the Dead Sea Scrolls. ASOR Photograph Collection, ASOR Archives.
A man and a dog (possibly Nelson Glueck and his canine companion, Atarah) inspect a road sign near Mrashshash, 1968. Nelson Glueck Photograph Collection, ASOR Archives